Thursday, 9 November 2017

The Moth Poetry Prize 2017

The Moth Poetry Prize (formerly the Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize) is now in its seventh year, it continues to offer one of the most lucrative awards in the world for a single unpublished poem.

ABOUT THE PRIZE Since its inception in 2011, the prize has been judged by such celebrated poets as Deborah Landau, Matthew Sweeney and Billy Collins. Winners of the prize have included Lee Sharkey, Abigail Parry and Ann Gray, whose poem was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in 2015.

The Moth Poetry Prize is open to anyone (over 16), as long as the poem is previously unpublished, and each year it attracts thousands of entries from new and established poets from over 50 countries worldwide.

This year’s judge is Daljit Nagra. Nagra was the first poet to win the Forward Prize for both his first collection of poetry and its title poem. He recently published his third collection of poetry with Faber, British Museum, and teaches poetry at Brunel University London and is Poet in Residence for BBC Radio 4.

Terms and Conditions
Deadline: 31 December 2017.

  • The name of the author must not appear on the same page as the poem. 
  • It’s not a requirement, but we strongly advise you to purchase a copy of The Moth. 
  • You can write on any subject and there is no line limit. 
  • Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and must never have been published, self-published, published online or broadcast. 
  • Fees Entry fee is €12 per poem Online payment should be made to via PayPal. Cheques should be made payable to ‘The Moth Magazine Ltd.’, with the sender’s name and address on the back.
1st €10,000 3 runner-up prizes of €1,000 Prizewinners
The shortlisted writers will be notified by the end of February 2018.
 The shortlisted poems will be published in the spring 2018 issue of The Moth.
 The winner will be announced at a special award ceremony at Poetry Ireland in Dublin in the spring of 2018.


No comments: