Tuesday, 19 May 2009

Winners of Strokestown

The Star Trek picture missed out my favourite actor Karl Urban from NZ who plays Doctor Bones McCoy so here's another version.

Strokestown winners are slightly less appealing being as I wasn't one of them. Here they are:

English language poem:
Ist prize of €4,000 to Padraig Rooney
2nd prize of €2,000 to John Wedgewood Clarke
3rd prize of €1,000 to Juliet Aykroyd

Irish/Gaelic poem:
Ist prize of €4,000 to Pádraig Mac Fhearghusa
2nd prize of €2,000 to Peadar Ó hUallaigh
3rd prize of €1,000 to Seán Ó Curraoin

Percy French Prize:
!st: Sean Lyons
2nd: Peter Goulding
3rd: Raymond O'Sullivan
Other backhanders went to: Paraig Higgins, Co.Galway; Charles Linenberg, Philadelphia USA; Eamonn McNally, Co. Galway; Damien Muldoon, Dublin; Padraic Neary, Sligo; Martin Parker, Devon, U.K.

Roscommon Schools' competition:
Secondary Schools:
!st: Emily Cooper, Convent of Mercy, Roscommon
2nd: Catherine James, Scoil Mhuire, Strokestown
3rd: Sarah James, Roscommon Community College
National schools:
1st: Amy Curley, Ballyleague NS, Lanesboro
2nd: Saoirse McLaughlin, ballybay NS, Kiltoom
3rd: Jamie McHenry, Croghan NS, Boyle

You can read the winning poems on the website.

No comments: