Friday, 1 November 2013

2014 Davy Byrnes Short Story Award

The Stinging Fly is delighted to announce the return of the Davy Byrnes Short Story Award
Booker Prize winner Anne Enright, Impac Winner Jon McGregor and Yi Yun Li winner of the Guardian First Book Award will judge the competition.

** That's some hard core short story writers to judge. 
The winner will receive €15,000 with €1000 for each of five runners-up

There will be a €10 entry fee.

 Entries close February 3rd 2014 with the winners announced in June 2014

The competition is organised by The Stinging Fly in association with Dublin UNESCO City of Literature. It is open to all Irish citizens and to residents of the 32 counties

The Davy Byrnes Short Story Award has been held twice previously, in 2004 and 2009. The 2004 competition was judged by Tobias Wolff, AL Kennedy and Caroline Walsh, the late literary editor of the Irish Times. The 2004 award was won by Anne Enright. The 2009 competition was judged by Richard Ford and was won by Claire Keegan, whose story ‘Foster’ was subsequently published in The New Yorker and in book form by Faber and Faber. A collection of the six prize-winning stories from 2009 was also published by The Stinging Fly Press and received warm praise from critics. The winning stories from the 2014 award will be collected and published by The Stinging Fly in autumn of next year.

The award is sponsored by Redmond Doran on behalf of Davy Byrnes, a fitting partnership given the pub’s status as a literary landmark. Davy Byrnes was first mentioned by James Joyce in Dubliners; however, it was Ulysses that made the pub famous, as it is visited by Leopold Bloom in the “Lestrygonians” chapter. Bloom meets his friend Nosey Flynn there and partakes of a “gorgonzola sandwich and a glass of Burgundy.”

Further information on the prize and entries can be found on

No comments: