Friday, 6 July 2012

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award

Closing date for entries Friday 27th July 2012

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award is for a first unpublished collection of poems in English by an Irish poet. The award is now in its 41st year. Previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Pat Boran, Joseph Woods and Geraldine Mitchell.

I wonder what other names are on the list that are not so well known.
Prize: The winner of this year’s award will receive €1,000.

There used to be prizes for second and third. Damn the recession!
The Award will be presented on Friday 28th September 2012 at the opening of the Annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.
Rules and entry form from the Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen:


Click here to download rules of the competition >>

It's not clear to me if I may enter or not. I have a lovely chapbook Some Poems that has an ISBN but technically I wouldn't say it's a collection.

No comments: