Friday, 25 April 2014

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2014

I have entered this a few times and have been twice commended, never the bride...

The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland. The award is now in its 43rd year. Previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.

The winner of this year’s award will receive €1,000.

Closing date for entries is Friday 25th July 2014.

The Award will be presented on the evening of the Friday 26th September 2014 at the opening of the Annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.

Rules and entry form from the Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen:

Tel. 00353(0)429378560, Fax 00353(0)429378855 E-mail:

No comments: