Friday, 3 August 2007

Patrick Kavanagh Poetry

Well, another rejection for the book from MacMillan, again positive while still saying no. Humbug.

I also got a copy of Revival from Whitehousepoets. I have a poem in there and it's in good company. Poets include Kevin Higgins, Clairr O'Connor, John O'Donnell, John W. Sexton and Noel Monahan.

Meanwhile, I have to let you know about the very prestigious Patrick Kavanagh Award for poets who are still to publish their first collection.

Deadline: 29 September 2007

The award is now in its 36th year. Previous winners include such heavyweights as Eílean Ní Chuilleanain, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy, Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrisey, Conor Callaghan, Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods. Last year's winner was the wonderful and hughly talented Enda Coyle-Greene.

The winner of this year’s award will receive €2,500. There is also a second prize of €1,000 and a third prize of €500. Judges: Paula Meehan and Theo Dorgan. The Award will be presented on the evening of Friday 23rd November 2007 at the opening of the Annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.
For rules and entry forms: Tel /Fax: 00353(0)429378560. E-mail: or download from their website.

Check out the great poem from Iggy McGovern about not winning the Patrick Kavanagh award. If memory serves me, it won the late lamented Rattlebag Poetry Slam.

Previous winners of the Patrick Kavanagh are collected in the book, Dancing with Kitty Stobling.

No comments: