Saturday, 23 August 2008

The Crashaw Prize

This prize is by the publishing house Salt, well known for promoting new (dare I say emerging) writers.

The Crashaw Prize is for the publication of debut collections of poetry. It will be awarded to up to six new writers each year. Authors must reside in the UK or Ireland, the USA, or Australia and New Zealand. Winners of the Prize will be published simultaneously in the UK, USA and Australia each summer.

We want to continue to support new writing talent, but more than this, to draw attention to really first rate collections from poets both young and old.
This prize isn't about money, but about global publication in both hardback and paperback, and offering considerable publicity with one of the world's leading poetry lists. We hope it will provide a platform for emerging writers to build their profile internationally and to look towards a long term relationship with Salt. We remain committed to breaking new talent, nurturing it, and finding readers for the best new writing.

Read the conditions carefully and make sure you send exactly what they want re: table of contents and the like. No points slaving away over a collection and then getting disqualified.

Deadline: 31st October
Fee: £18
Judges: members of the Board of Salt Publishing

The winners will be announced in December and published the following June. Note this is NOT anonymous.

No comments: