Friday, 8 August 2008

Forward Prize(s) for Poetry

The shortlist for the annual Forward Prize for Poetry has been announced.

Best Collection:
Jamie McKendrick - Crocodiles & Obelisks (Faber)(Previous winner and the only one I've read)
Sujata Bhatt - Pure Lizard (Carcanet)
Mick Imlah - The Lost Leader (Faber)
Jane Griffiths- Another Country (Bloodaxe)
Jen Hadfield - Nigh-No-Place (Bloodaxe)
Catherine Smith - Lip (Smith Doorstop)

Best first collection has a prize of £5,000:
Simon Barraclough - Los Alamos Mon Amour (Salt)
Andrew Forster - Fear of Thunder (Flambard)
Frances Leviston - Public Dream (Picador)
Allison McVety - The Night Trotsky Came to Stay (Smith Doorstop)
Stephanie Norgate - Hidden River (Bloodaxe)
Kathryn Simmonds - Sunday at the Skin Launderette (Seren)

And there are six nominees for the £1,000 award for best single poem (often poems that have already won a prize, fairly dominated by Bridport):
Seamus Heaney for Cutaways (published in Irish pages)
Christopher Buehlman for Wanton (Bridport)
Catherine Ormell for Campaign Desk, December 1812 (Bridport)
Love Poem for Natalie 'Tusja' Beridze for Don Paterson (Poetry Review)
Kate Rhodes for Wells-next-the-Sea (Bridport)
Tim Turnbull for Ode on a Grayson Perry Urn (Magma)

Winners to be announced in London on 8 October.

No comments: