Saturday 29 September 2012

Nominations for Professor

I can think of a few names. I expect it will end up kind of old school though.

Professor Harry Clifton will complete his term as Ireland Professor of Poetry in October 2013 and the Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust now invites nominations to fill this prestigious role. The Ireland Chair of Poetry was established by the Arts Council/ An Chomhairle Ealaíon, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, Trinity College Dublin, Queen’s University Belfast and University College Dublin to celebrate the exceptional contribution of Irish poets to the world of literature.

The Chair is tenable for a period of three years (non-renewable) during which time the holder will be attached to each of the three universities in turn and will be required to be in residence at each for approximately one academic term per year. In addition, the holder will make three formal presentations and hold other informal workshops, lectures and readings for the public.
The value of the professorship will be £30,000 sterling per annum to the holder and is open to poets of achievement and distinction.
Nominations should be addressed to the Chairman, Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust, c/o Arts Council, 70 Merrion Square, Dublin 2 or sent by email to to arrive no later than Friday 12th October 2012.

The Ireland Chair of Poetry was set up following the award of the Nobel Prize in Literature to Seamus Heaney, to honour his achievement and that of Irish poets more generally. The Ireland Chair of Poetry is supported by the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, Queen’s University Belfast, Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin.
The panel of trustees is made up of: Bob Collins, Chairman, (Chairman of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland), Pat Moylan, (Chairman of the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon), Sir Donnell Deeny, Professor Ciaran Carson (Queen’s University Belfast), Professor Nicholas Grene (Trinity College Dublin), Professor Mary Clayton (University College Dublin), Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Adrian Hall and Brian Walker.

No comments: