Friday, 6 August 2010

Second Basil Bunting Poetry Award

Deadline: 30th September 2010.

Judge: Jo Shapcott.

The awards ceremony will be held in December in Newcastle in collaboration with the Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts (NCLA).

After the awards the winners and those commended will be invited to submit 10 poems to Neil Astley, editor of Bloodaxe Books. Without obligation, Neil will respond to the poems submitted.

You can entere online on the Website

First Prize: £1000.00
Second Prize: £500.00
Third Prize: £250.00
and there are three commendations of £75.00 each

* The poems must be in English and not exceed 42 lines in length and must be the original work of the entrant.
* The poems must not have been published (which includes self publication, website or online publishing and broadcast) nor entered in any other competition prior to the date of the awards ceremony in December 2010

The fee for the first poem is £7 and for any further poems £3 each.

Update: Shortlist 2 Dec 2010
Leo Madigan The Lads I Went to School WithJames O'Brien OctogramPatrick Daly Shade
Nichola Deane I Tell Her Everything I Know About RaisinsElisabeth Murawski Cleopatra to the Bard, Concerning Julius CaesarPolly Atkin the bird that makes you afraidCarol Moldaw A Leafs GravityFiona Ritchie Walker The Second Week of the SoapJustin McCarthy BaguettesMark Cooper RecitalJudy Brown Two VirginsMargaret Speak The Pyrotechnist AttendantJane Routh Step TheoryMalcom Watson Readers BrowsingRyan Whatley He had his Father’s Fishing LicenseGeraldine Paine The CreekSam Jackson The Keeper of the KeysDavid Underdown Bird ManMoira Lake GirasolePaul Groves How I became an Existentialist 

The winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony to be held on the evening of Thursday 9th December at 7pm in The Culture Lab, Newcastle University, Grand Assembly Rooms, King's Walk, NE1 7RU. 

No comments: