Tuesday, 19 June 2012

Over The Edge New Writer of The Year

Annual creative writing competition. Open to both poets and fiction writers.

The best fiction entry will win €300.
The best poetry entry will win €300.
One of these will then be chosen as the overall winner and will receive an additional €400, giving the overall winner total prize money of €700 and the title Over The Edge New Writer of The Year 2012.

The 2012 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year will be a Featured Reader at an Over The Edge: Open Reading to be scheduled in Galway City Library in Winter 2012/13.  

Salmon Poetry will read, without commitment to publish, a manuscript submitted to them by the winner in the poetry category.

Doire Press will read, without commitment to publish a collection of short stories submitted to them by the winner in the poetry category.

The winning poems and the winning story will both be published in a special Over The Edge Tenth Birthday anthology which will be published during 2013.

Entries should be sent to Over The Edge, New Writer of the Year competition, 3 Carbry Road, Newcastle, Galway, Ireland with an accompanying SAE. Entries will be judged anonymously, so do not put your name on your poem(s) or story. Put your contact details on a separate sheet.

Criteria: fiction of up to three thousand words, three poems of up to forty lines, or one poem of up to one hundred lines. Multiple entries are acceptable but each must be accompanied by a fee.
You must be at least sixteen years old by September 1st 2012 and not have a book published or accepted for publication in the genre in which you enter. Chapbooks excepted.
Entries must not have been previously published or be currently entered in any other competition. The competition is open to writers worldwide.

The fee for one entry is €10. The fee for multiple entries is €7.50 per entry e.g. two entries will cost €15, three entries €22.50 and so on. Fee payable by cheque or money order to Over The Edge.

The closing date is Wednesday, August 8th, 2012.

This year’s competition judge is John Corless.

No comments: