Monday, 25 October 2010

Crawshaw Prize for Poetry Collection

Salt were in financial trouble earlier in the year and launched a 'Just One Book' campaign that appeared to be very successful in getting readers and writers to buy just one book from them. They are the UK largest publisher of poetry and short stories.

Salt have a good reputation. They often have a collection or two on the Forward Prize list. This year Three Salt poets shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize and Siân Hughes won it. She was previously short listed for her First Collection called The Missing and longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award.

Deadline: 31 October 2010

Read the Crawshaw Prize Conditions: No previous collection published.
65-70 pages. (yerk!) But it's not a first collection competition.

Entrants must permanently reside in the UK & Ireland, the USA, or Australia & New Zealand.

Manuscripts must include a table of contents and a list of acknowledgments for poems previously published. The first page must include a biographical note of not more than 80 words. Your name, address, phone number and email address should appear on the title page of your manuscript.

The Crashaw Prize is judged by members of the Board of Salt Publishing. Manuscripts are not read anonymously. Manuscripts may be screened by Salt staff.

Send by email only. See the website.

Fee: £10 (down from £18 last year, maybe they didn't get enough submissions)

2009 Winners

* Nathan Hoks, Reveilles
* Andrew Pidoux, Year of the Lion
* Nick Potamitis, The Book of Night Terrors
* Jonty Tiplady, Zam Bonk Dip
* Ryan van Winkle, Tomorrow, We Will Live Here
* Anna Woodford, Birdhouse


Totalfeckineejit said...

£10 is a lot of money, an awful lot of money, particularly to an impecunious half- arsed chancer like me, BUT (hypocrite moi) of all the things worth a punt I believe in the integrity and ethos of salt and I'd rather risk one solid tenner on this than a million other things. I also LOVED Sian Hughes' 'The Missing'

Emerging Writer said...

It was £18 last year!