Wednesday, 10 October 2007

Sean O'Brien wins his third Forward Prize

This is an annual prize for the best poetry collection published in the previous year. at £10,000 it's not enough to live on but better than the pittance usually paid for a single poem.

But with the paucity of payment in poetry (how poetic is that phrase, readers?) can't they spread it about a bit?

His collection is called The Drowned Book. (I know a few books I would drown, some of them poetry.)
The prize of £5,000 for the best first collection goes to Daljit Nagra for Look we have coming to Dover and the prize for the best single poem goes to Alice Oswald.

No comments: