Tuesday, 21 September 2010

The Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award 2011

This is apparently the world's biggest short story competition for a single story, so you'd better have a fantastic story to enter. All my stories are fantastic, of course.
This from the lovely Women Rule Writer blog.

Deadline: 1pm on 30 October 2010.

The award aims to honour the finest writers of short stories in the UK and Ireland. It is open to authors with a previous record of publication in creative writing (so you're up against the full spectrum).

Entries may be previously unpublished, or first published or scheduled for publication after 1 January 2010. All entries must be under 6,000 words and entirely original.

Prize: The winning author will receive £30,000 and the five runners-up £500. The winner will be announced at the Sunday Times Oxford Literary Festival in April 2011, with the longlist announced on 20 February 2011 and the shortlist on 13 March 2011.

Last year’s winner was New Zealand’s CK Stead, with his story ‘Last Season’s Man’. Read it here.

For full details of eligibility and how to submit a story, please download the terms and conditions and entry form here.
Terms and conditions here.


Totalfeckineejit said...

It's got a real snappy title.

Summer Ross said...

Sucks to live in the US then lol great though for others. Thanks for posting

Titus said...

Might not enter but I want that hairstyle!